Poem: 1860

Ladies and Gentlemen, I am pleased to post this poem written by a good friend, book reviewer and producer of many shows for the InternetVoicesRadio.com network (including my own!), Lillian Cauldwell and her piece entitled, ‘1860’.

Shafts of wheat
and whirling snow
covered them all.
The bodies, fallen
murdered and shot
as they stood,a
nd milled,
sat,
and slept.

Their fragile huts
and flickering fires
dying
as they,
died
from men with rifles.

A killing spree,
bloody land
filled with hate
and mountain snow.

He rode away
undeterred
from a slaughter
yet to be
a fallen people
captive and
harnessed
to a deadened land
striped
of its dignity.

The starving race
matched skins
with bleeding corpses
blanket strewn
twitching
bodies
had few chances
to make a stand
against the warriors
of a foreign land.

Give us this day
and grant us a life.
Our feeble struggles
like fish out of water
breathe our last
this dead-end place
supports us
no more.

Our tears,
run free
and unrestrained,
soaking the ground
sacred
to our Father and Mothers,
Sisters and Brothers.

Lillian Cauldwell
http://www.smallbusinessreferralnetwork.com/expo/?site=LSPEAKOUT
http://lilliandme.libsyn.com
AuthorBook Reviewer

About Chatmon's Books

Chatmon's Books is your online bookstore for the best in emerging authors, writers' workshop CD's and DVD's, bookmarks, poetry postcards and more. #LiteratureUnlimited

Posted on July 14, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. We’ll as for me I loved it. I noticed that no one has posted a comment I guess that means to me they really don’t understand poetry. I love poetry myself I have finished my first poetry book Deep Confessions which has been changed to Breathless. I have just been picked up by Publish America and New York Literary Agency. This particular poem really touched me and I hope to see more of this on this web-site. My writing partner and I have finished our book LOVE.COM so please go to our blog and enjoy. Thank you for still believing in true hearted poets.Lavender Spice..

Leave a Reply

