The Souraya Christine Interview

Souraya Christine

Souraya Christine

Author Souraya Christine is the author of When is Strong Strong Enough: How to Push Through the Pain, NCM Publishing. Recently, we took time to find out more about this up-and-coming author who is steadily making her name known. Here is Souraya as we focus in on her life and work.

Authors N Focus: Who is Souraya Christine?
Souraya: I am a writer, a mother of 3, a lover of God, a radio show host, and a woman on a mission to help people recognize and cope with issues and learn to forgive and heal. I’ve been a single parent since age 16, have experienced major traumas such as molestation, date rape, domestic violence, family lies, and more. Today, I am a businesswoman, motivational speaker/panelist, and lover of life.

ANF: How long have you been writing?
Souraya: I began writing when I was a child to help cope with the things I was experiencing. Poetry was my favorite. It allowed me to express what I was feeling. Unfortunately, people still didn’t realize what was going on with me.

ANF:What inspired you to write your book?
Souraya: “When is Strong, Strong Enough?” was initially written as therapy for me. I had decided to put my thoughts on paper so that maybe they would get out of my head and stop causing me nightmares. I had not intended for the book to be released for public consumption. Last year, in January of 2012, after re-dedicating my spiritual side, it hit me that it was not about me at all. I could no longer be the victim because there was someone else out there who needed to hear my story. With that revelation, I re-wrote the book, added some real world lessons and the rest, as they say, is history.

ANF: What steps did you take to publish your first (or latest) book ?
Souraya: Well, as stated previously, once I decided to publish the book, I first re-wrote it. Once that was complete, I asked around for recommendations for publishing. I sought a small publisher with the thought that I would get more personalized attention because I was new to the literary industry. I had my thoughts on how I wanted the cover to look so I had a photographer that I knew to take the pictures for me. The publishing company, after receiving payment from me, hired two different editors, a designer for the cover, and handled the publishing process. I was still responsible for marketing the book and getting my name out there. I planned a book tour, did signings, and subsequently began getting invited to do speaking engagements as well.

ANF: What’s your favorite part in the book?
Souraya: The favorite part(s) of my book are what I call the “Push Through”. These sections are where I offer advice and insight into recognizing problems, coping with them and experiencing the healing process.

ANF: Outside of writing this book, I understand you’re involved in other projects. Would you mind sharing what those are with us?
Souraya: Oh goodness, there are so many! I host a weekly internet radio show which airs every Thursday at 6:00pm pst entitled “Never Strong Enough” on BlogTalkRadio. I am beginning my own publishing company called The Write Touch Publishing, LLC where I publish books (just my own for now), and offer custom marketing materials like business cards, postcards, signage, etc… I am getting into acting, am developing a reality TV show, and preparing to produce a film entitled “Forgiveness…A Life or Death Decision”. I am also in the process of creating a magazine entitled Real Time…Yours and Mine, which focuses on helping ex-offenders re-transition into society successfully through supportive resources, real life stories, and other assistance. In Nevada, I also run a phlebotomy and CPR training company called The Right Touch Phlebotomy & CPR Training, Inc.

ANF: Do you plan on attending any events soon? If so, please tell us where you will be?
Souraya: Yes, I am a panelist in the upcoming Las Vegas Women’s Leadership Conference to be held on April 23-24, 2013. I am also seeking to participate in some literary events as I am able.

ANF: How can the readers contact you if they would like to receive a personal copy? Do you have a website?
Souraya: I can be contacted many ways! Via Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/souraya.christine
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SourayaChristin
My Blog: http://alwaysstrongenough.blogspot.com
My Radio Show: www.blogtalkradio.com/never-strong-enough
My Websites: www.sourayachristine.com and/or www.writetouchpublishing.com
Or by email at thewritetouchbooks@gmail.com

ANF: What advice do you have for someone just starting out as an author?
Souraya: Be passionate, be determined, seek out the best options for you, and never ever give up no matter what opposition you may face.

ANF: Is there anything else you would like to say in closing?

Souraya: I would just like to say to be prepared to get out of your comfort zone, be mindful of the fact that things will not always go your way, and understand that, generally speaking, you will not come out of the gate into national bestseller status. So many of us enter this game with unrealistic expectations then become hurt and walk away. It takes lots of effort, hard work, dedication and, yes, money, but the rewards are phenomenal, and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

Thank you Souraya for taking the time to speak with us. When is Strong Strong Enough is available right now, so please support this great author by buying a copy!

perf5.500x8.500.indd

About Chatmon's Books

Chatmon's Books is your online bookstore for the best in emerging authors, writers' workshop CD's and DVD's, bookmarks, poetry postcards and more. #LiteratureUnlimited

Posted on March 10, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Leaving a strong and powerful message for healing the wounded hearts is what’s it’s all about. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

