The Annie Brown Interview

book cover

Here on ANF Extra, we like to interview new authors who are starting to come into their own. Annie Brown is one such author with a her new book,  Christians With Pervasive Issues. Annie took time away from her busy schedule to answer a few questions with us. Enjoy.

Who is Annie Brown?
Annie Brown is a God-fearing Christians who is the mother of four adult children, 5 grandchildren and 1 grandchild. I am a licensed minister and a district Sunday school superintendent, as well as a church secretary. I am a master level social worker who works with hospice serving the terminally ill. I am on a mission to help others to become the best they can be in the Body of Christ as well as in society.

How long have you been writing?
I have been a scribbler most of my life but serious writing started in 2003. So I would say 10 years.

What inspired you to write your book?
Christians with Pervasive Issues was actually inspired by God to help individuals resolve their issues that are denied or swept in a closet.

What steps did you take to publish your first (or latest) book?
Actually I wrote as I was given inspiration to do so. There were times I wrote frequently and there were times I had lapses in writing. I received most of the inspiration for writing around 3:00 am and while preparing to go to work in the mornings. Sometimes I would get a thought during church and while riding on the highway. I kept paper and pen with me and I would jot down notes and then type them up later. As I wrote, I would have a sister/friend (Emma Barclay) to listen to some of the material and she would give me feedback. Upon completing the writings I had several friends and English scholars to edit the manuscript. Also before publishing the book it was professionally edited by Outskirt Press who did the publishing.
I did not research a lot of publishers because I read may opinions about how hard it was to get someone to publish your work. However, I was given the name of Outskirt Press by a professor who had been publishing for quite some time. So since I was going to self-publish I used Outskirts Press.

What’s your favorite part in the book?
I personally like the guides for victims and perpetrators because it gives either the victim or perpetrator some suggestions for helping themselves.

Outside of writing this book, I understand you’re involved in other projects. Would you mind sharing what those are with us?
I have recently converted both my books Christians with Pervasive Issues and Who I Be into audio. I have begun to write my third book and also I am writing on a book that I will not publish until I retire because I am writing about many of the experiences I had with patients. As a licensed minister there is always a mission of some kind to help others; in fact, my job as a social worker affords me the opportunity to be a servant to terminally ill people in the most critical time of their lives. I am also involved with Veterans and conducting workshops on traumatic brain injuries and post- traumatic stress disorders.

Do you plan on attending any events soon? If so, please tell us where you will be?
June 1, 2013, I will be going back to my hometown (Alexander City, Alabama) to participate in a community program geared at spotlighting accomplishments of persons from that community.

How can the readers contact you if they would like to receive a personal copy? Do you have a website?
I can be contacted via e-mail at aclara2002@yahoo.com or by phone 256-249-8769 or 256-404-3036. And I do have a webpage http://www.outskirtpress.com/christianswithpervasiveissues

What advice do you have for someone just starting out as an author?
Keep your focus and have patience. Don’t give up on your dream and be able to take negative criticism. Know that it takes time to get your name out there and began to sell books. Just writing a book and publishing it is not all there is to it you have to do marketing which can be very time consuming.

Is there anything else you would like to say in closing?
As I mentioned in my book there is hope for you; however, you have to be honest with yourself and be willing to forgive or ask to be forgiven to be totally delivered.

photo

About Chatmon's Books

Chatmon's Books is your online bookstore for the best in emerging authors, writers' workshop CD's and DVD's, bookmarks, poetry postcards and more. #LiteratureUnlimited

Posted on May 13, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. thank you for interviewing me

Leave a Reply

