The Hannah D. Spivey Interview

We’re back with another interview with an up-and-coming author. Hannah D. Spivey has released her newest work, “Ebony The Beloved”. While we’d love to tell you more about it, let’s have Ms. Spivey explain it further herself. Enjoy the conversation.

51xVXyntSnL._SL500_AA300_

Hello Hannah, thanks for the interview. Please tell us who you are.
My name is Hannah D. Spivey and I am the author of “Ebony The Beloved”. I have an Associates Degree in Business Administration and I currently working on my second novel entitled “The Bold and the Ugly Truth” and I am currently doing a radio tour about my novel “Ebony the Beloved” and domestic violence and child abuse awareness. “Ebony the Beloved” has been published for nearly 2 years and it’s still going strong. I am very proud of this book because it is my first printed book and I do plan to release many more riveting reads like it.

How long have you been writing?
I’ve been writing seriously for a little over three years.

What inspired you to write your book?
The idea for “Ebony the Beloved” stemmed from loving fiction, reading books by Kimberla Lawson Roby and Mary Monroe, having a way with words, and writing a journal. I believed I was destined to write because writing is an outlet for me to express myself. And it allows me to ruminate my thoughts before I set them free.

What steps did you take to publish your first (or latest) book ?
It took me five months to write my first novel and it took me six months to find a publisher. While writing the book I procrastinated a lot, but I am surprised it only took me five months to write the book. I queried literary agents and publishers from see through shining see and when that didn’t work out, I almost gave up on writing. I was also emailing authors to see if they could help me and that didn’t do any good. I just prayed about it and low and behold- I met my publisher on Facebook and the rest was history. I knew I had to remain tenacious, prayerful, positive, and that’s all it took.

What’s your favorite part in the book?
My favorite part of the book is when the heroine (Ebony) finally escaped her abuser after he and his mother had beaten and imprisoned her.

Outside of writing this book, I understand you’re involved in other projects. Would you mind sharing what those are with us?
Again, I am currently working on my second novel “The Bold and the Ugly Truth” and I am also ghostwriting a memoir for someone. I am also a Virtual Public Relations Assistant. I pretty much work with other authors to help them generate buzz for their literary work project(s).

Do you plan on attending any events soon? If so, please tell us where you will be?
Well, since I am a super tight budget, I do wish to do more speaking engagements at colleges and universities. I’d even like to speak at domestic violence awareness luncheons and conventions around the country. For now, I am focused on doing radio and magazine interviews about my book while working on my next book. I’m positive that everything else will eventually fall into place.

How can the readers contact you if they would like to receive a personal copy? Do you have a website?

They can contact me on Twitter @Bossladywriter, they can also like my Facebook Fan page “Hannah Dorothy Spivey” and they can email me at: Bossladywriter@gmail.com. “Ebony the Beloved” is available on Kindle as well as in paperback on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Books-A-Million, Ebay, and Abebooks.

What advice do you have for someone just starting out as an author?
Research, write, and research. There’s always room for improvement as a writer as well as marketing and promoting a book. And never be afraid to think and step out of the box.

Is there anything else you would like to say in closing?
I thank you for interviewing me and I thank everyone else for their support. 🙂

ImageHandler.ashx

About Chatmon's Books

Chatmon's Books is your online bookstore for the best in emerging authors, writers' workshop CD's and DVD's, bookmarks, poetry postcards and more. #LiteratureUnlimited

Posted on May 20, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

