The Christian Cashelle Interview

me

The author of Revisions of Life,  Christian Cashelle, has received praise from the African Americans on The Move Book Club and is the founder of Dynamic Image Publications. Let’s find out more about this talented author and publisher.

Who is Christian Cashelle?

I am a young woman of God, trying my hand in a lot of different talents. I have small obsessions with many things including nails, hair, sleep and other things women love to do, but my first love will always be my pen. I am the go-to baby sitter in my family and the official macaroni and cheese cook. I can be impatient and emotional at times but I feel that it shows well in my writing. I am 26 years old and working on a life that is pleasing to God. My first step of self-gratification is my writing. I have always known from the time I was eight years old, writing poetry in class that my teacher would read aloud, that feeling you get when someone recognizes the words you so creatively put together as a work of art was something I wanted to feel forever. It never left me, even through a bachelors program and two masters programs I knew that nothing would top that feeling of seeing my name printed on a cover of a book. I’ve taken steps to secure my literary career, developing an independent press Dynamic Image Publications and becoming a freelance editor after interning with a couple of different companies. I am currently dating, dreaming of the days of being a wife and mother. All I know for sure is that I am a child of God and a writer and most days that is all I need.


How long have you been writing?

I have been writing since I was eight years old. Never wanted to be anything but a writer. If you could tell me I would be anything other than that, I most likely would laugh or tell you that wasn’t true. It’s in my blood, it’s a part of me and I won’t let it go. Not even if I didn’t get paid for it.

What inspired you to write Revisions of Life?

I studied fine arts in writing at Lindenwood University in my first masters program. I had always been more of an instinctive writer, just doing what felt right. That program opened my eyes up to a lot of techniques that so many writers were using that I had no idea about. One of the hardest for me to grasp was the art of the revision. Everything I wrote was so dear to me. I hated going to workshops where other writers would tear my work apart telling me all that was wrong with me, maybe throwing in a compliment or two. I felt as if heart hurt to sit quietly for an hour as if it didn’t affect me, but what hurt more was actually having to take their words to heart and change what I had wrote. I didn’t want to delete or change anything and only did so because it was required in the class, but when it was done…it was beautiful. I say that to say this, no one is happy with making changes to something they feel is already perfect in their life or even something that they are just comfortable with. Revisions of Life is about having the courage to change a current situation and the reward is seeing how beautiful it turns out when you take that leap of faith.

What steps did you take to publish this book ?

Revision of Life started out as my thesis paper for my masters in fine arts from Lindenwood University in Missouri. Once I finished the program, I realized I was nowhere near done with my three main characters so I began to add to the story. This was actually finished a lot sooner than my first two published novels. This was my third title under my independent publishing company, but I wanted to be more proactive in the pre-release. I hired editor Carla Dean of U Can Mark My Words to edit the project for me. My graphics designer, Candice Moore, designed my cover and I signed up for Create Space soon after.

What’s your favorite part?

My favorite part of Revisions of Life is the journey. I don’t have one particular part that stands out from another. However, I infused this novel with poetry, and I do have a favorite poem.

Walking along a bed of bright violets, fushias and emeralds
Time has given her the gift of itself
Wondering eyes focused on the multitude of a warmth coaxing through her body; an outpour through her eyes deep down into her being
Anticipating each touch of beauty with slender fingers only defusing the fortune instead
Each bright color dimming under her submission, its light fleeting as she passes
The clinches of her heart hurt from her own wrong doing, how she wishes to pull away and stop the pain yet her smooth hands continue to crumble the fresh lives along the way
As the hurt reaches her eyes, she’s anticipating her last step a desire to lie down and not live is so strong
But with lightening speed a flicker of lighted truth reveals itself ahead with blues, greens and purples brighter than she ever thought possible
Thoughts of her terrorist affections conceded
Her fear of self-destruction depleted
She crawls to get there because somehow
She just knows

Outside of writing Revisions of Life, I understand you’re involved in other projects. Would you mind sharing what those are with us?

I have interned with Delphine Publications an editor this past year, so now I am ready to venture off into the world of free lance editing. I am also working on my fourth novel, An Inevitable Fate, which is the sequel to my first, Ava’s Story.

Do you plan on attending any events soon? If so, please tell us where you will be?

I am honored to be a part of the Los Angeles Black Book Expo on August 17 and I look forward to many more events this year.

How can the readers contact you if they would like to receive a personal copy? Do you have a website?

Copies of all three of my titles are available on www.dynamicimagepublications.com and www.amazon.com. You can also follow Dynamic Image Publications on Facebook as well as Twitter/@dynamicREIGN.

What advice do you have for someone just starting out as an author?

Do NOT let the industry deter you from your dream. Real writers couldn’t stop writing if they tried…


Is there anything else you would like to say in closing?

Thank you for the opportunity to give a little piece of me, in return I hope I inspired you. God bless!

 

BookCoverImagesmall-194x300

About Chatmon's Books

Chatmon's Books is your online bookstore for the best in emerging authors, writers' workshop CD's and DVD's, bookmarks, poetry postcards and more. #LiteratureUnlimited

Posted on August 14, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. christiancashelle

    Reblogged this on Random Acts of Cash and commented:
    I love this interview. It was so fun!

Leave a Reply

