The Darrius Garrett Interview

396161_319987328094909_166514100_n

Darrius Garrett is a multi-talented actor, motivational speaker and author. His book, Diary of a Freedom Writer: The Experience has caught the interest of many, including capturing numerous awards and also reaching #1 on the New York Times Bestselling List. Here’s your chance to know him here.

How long have you been writing?

I discovered writing around 1991 but have been writing professionally since 1997 co-writing a New York Times Bestselling book entitled: The Freedom Writers Diary (Broadway).

What inspired you to write Diary of a Freedom Writer?

I wrote Diary of a Freedom Writer: The Experience (Tate Publishing) because the previous book Freedom Writers Diary was written by us (The Freedom Writers) anonymously. Then the movie Freedom Writers provided a face to our words but the face was not ours. Since many people appreciate part of my story that was portrayed in the movie “Freedom Writer” through the character Marcus; I wanted to share my full story of change, struggle and redemption with the world.

What steps did you take to publish this book?

It took a few years to write Diary of a Freedom Writer. I ultimately wrote the bulk of the book while homeless with my wife and three daughters during 2011-2013. I would watch them sleep in our small single hud space which it influenced me to reflect on my past an provide my best writings and perceptions of my past.

What’s your favorite part?

I really like the chapter called Summer Madness because I speak about the deaths that happen over the summer and how it affected me and there are many that are still going though the same things so when they read my book they realize that they are not alone and there is a way out. Beyond that I really can appreciate each and every chapter for a different reason as I am truly proud of this body of work.

Outside of writing Diary of a Freedom Writer: The Experience, I understand you’re involved in other projects. Would you mind sharing what those are with us?

My hands are in a few things, I am currently writing a new book called Secret Touch & A Flower from Autumn, I am also an actor and just finished the second season of a show I am a part of where I play the role of a Football player name Dante Lavonte on a show called the “Kroll Show” with comedian Nick Kroll on Comedy Central. As a motivational speaker I am currently open and seeking all speaking engagements to help motivate people with my story as well as I am trying to raise money to go into the Juvenile Jails worldwide and provide my book Diary of A Freedom Writer “The Experience” to them so that I can help inspire & mentor them since I am a product of the jails myself.

Do you plan on attending any events soon? If so, please tell us where you will be?

Currently open for all book signings and speaking events.

How can the readers contact you if they would like to receive a personal copy? Do you have a website?

Yes. My website is www.darriusonline.com

What advice do you have for someone just starting out as an author?

Please don’t give up on your dreams. We all have stories the needs to be told and read by others. There is room for anyone that is dedicated and willing to take the time and put their stories on paper.

Is there anything else you would like to say in closing?

Yes. I ask that people go out and support Diary of a Freedom Writer “The Experience” as the readers purchasing the book and talking about it to friends is very much needed. Feel free to schedule me for appearances by visiting my website. Also I can be found on twitter under the handle @herbanprince. Thank you so much for the opportunity to share my story.

DOAFW Cover

About Chatmon's Books

Chatmon's Books is your online bookstore for the best in emerging authors, writers' workshop CD's and DVD's, bookmarks, poetry postcards and more. #LiteratureUnlimited

Posted on August 14, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

