The Gloria J. Carter Interview

Gloria Carter

Miss Gloria J. Carter is the author of A Heart to Live in Troubled Times: Psalms of Exhortation and Comfort. In this interview, she gives us a rundown of her latest book, among other things.

Who is Gloria J. Carter?

I am a native of California. I was raised in the East side of Los Angeles. I have four adult daughters and two grandchildren. I am the sixth child of ten siblings. My parents are alive, married, and in their eighties. When I was nine years old, a lady in the neighborhood prayed with me to ask Jesus to come into my heart. Over the years, I strayed away from the Lord and begin to live a very wayward lifestyle filled with toxic relationships and drugs. In the late seventies, I was introduced to Jesus again by some acquaintances of mine. From that day, my life began to change for the better.

How long have you been writing?

I have been writing since junior high school. Because I was an introvert, writing was the only way I could express my inner most thoughts and feelings. It also brought me the peace and the comfort that I so desperately needed.

What inspired you to write your book?

A Heart to Live in Troubled Times: Psalms of Exhortation and Comfort was inspired through my relationship with the Lord. Through this relationship the Lord gave me the title of the book. He then began to give me inspirational words through my own true life experiences. As a health care provider, mother, grandmother, and at one time a wife (I was widowed in 1995), I would spend hours writing about the many obstacles and challenges I faced on a daily basis. Whether at home, on the job, or communicating with people in general; the Holy Spirit would take real life situations and give me encouraging inspirational words in poetic form; which related to the short stories of true life events.

What steps did you take to publish this book?

The first step was writing my experiences down on any piece of paper I could get my hands on. Napkins, paper bags, toilet tissue, scratch paper or anything I could find to write on at the time. This eventually transformed into my manuscript. I searched everywhere possible to find a publisher who would publish my book the way God gave it to me. Although not really knowing what I was doing I brought a couple of literary books which had an insurmountable list of literary agents in them. I sent cover letters to a few of the agents and made numerous phone calls, but I was rejected. Whenever I purchased books I would search the back cover of the book to see who the publisher was. I would contact them but they were only interested in authors who were already published. I even went to an event where a publisher was speaking. I later contacted the company and they seemed to be interested. They read my manuscript and told me I was an excellent writer.

But during the process, they began re-writing the manuscript. They wanted to change everything about it. I could understand adjusting, suggesting, or even changing some things because I had read that this was part of the editing process. But, by the time the publishing company got through rearranging my manuscript, it sounded like they had written it instead of me. This particular company did not work out for me. That’s not to say it was a bad publishing company, it was just not right for me.

While surfing the internet my daughter came across Tate Publishing and Enterprises. What impressed me the most about this company was the scripture taken from Psalms 68:11. “The Lord gave the word and great was the company of those who published it.” My daughters encouraged me to contact them. And so I did. I was asked to send a copy of my manuscript on a flash drive. Once the company received it they got back in touch with me. They thought my book was a great idea. Tate Publishing and Enterprises and my daughter assisted with the editing of this book. I thank God for it.

What’s your favorite part?

My favorite part in the book is the short stories on “Beauty” and “Don’t cry for me anymore”.

Outside of writing this book, I understand you’re involved in other projects. Would you mind sharing what those are with us?

I am a home health care provider; I go into the homes and assist families with sick and aging loved ones. In addition to home health care, I am involved in street witnessing. Street witnessing is very important to me. It allows me to share God’s unconditional love and forgiveness. I am currently writing my second book. I am also working on inspirational calendars, greeting cards and refrigerator magnets. I will be making them available in the near future.

Do you plan on attending any events soon? If so, please tell us where you will be?

I am currently working on book signing and speaking engagements. I will inform the readers as they become available.

How can the readers contact you if they would like to receive a personal copy? Do you have a website?

They may contact me by email (ahearttolive@gmail.com), by website www.ahearttolive.com, or by mail at (P.O Box 47645 Los Angeles, CA 90047).

What advice do you have for someone just starting out as an author?

My first advice would be to never give up. No matter how many denials you receive, just know that there is a publisher who has a market for your book. Don’t stop writing. Keep moving forward by faith. Pray and trust the Lord for guidance and direction. Be prepared, have your copies ready. Also, make sure you have your manuscripts on flash drive. Learn to endure with patience, it will happen. That door will open and you will be published.

Is there anything else you would like to say in closing?

I would like to thank my heavenly Father, my Lord and Savior Jesus the Christ and the Holy Spirit for moving through me to write these inspirational words of Exhortation and Comfort. I pray this book will bring healing and comfort to all who read it.

Thank you Gloria!

About Chatmon's Books

Chatmon's Books is your online bookstore for the best in emerging authors, writers' workshop CD's and DVD's, bookmarks, poetry postcards and more. #LiteratureUnlimited

Posted on August 15, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

