Jair, The Literary Masturbator Interview

jairbiopic

Here at Authors N Focus Extra, we like to expose the readers to a wide spectrum of authors from diverse backgrounds who have unique perspectives on life as it shows in their written works. One such person is known as Jair, The Literary Masturbator. He is a well-known spoken word artist from the Los Angeles area turned author who has produced two new books which we’ll discuss in the interview. For now, let’s get to know Jair, his works and what advice he has for new and aspiring authors.

How long have you been writing?

There’s a part of me that’s always been writing but as far as writing for people to read or for Spoken Word performances it’s been about 15 years.

What inspired you to write your books?

I have 2 books to highlight. The first is, “Touch….Poems & Other Writings of Love, Erotica, and Sensuality.” I wanted to publish this book as a celebration of love and erotica especially as it pertains to Same Gender Loving African-American men. I feel it’s a community that hasn’t been represented as much as others. I know for me when I’ve been able to recognize myself in books or other media it’s always rewarding.

My upcoming book is titled, “Collage: An Assemblage of Divergent Poetry, Juxtoposed” and is definitely more personal. It covers a variety of topics and poetry forms but I feel like all the work represents me.

What steps did you take to publish “Touch….” and “Collage” ?

With, “Touch…” it was a very “in-house” process. I self-published, had a colleague edit the book, and a friend who is a graphic designer create the covers. I was very pleased with what was produced. This time around with, “Collage” I am going outside my circle. I’ve found that having had the experience of working with people I know it would be a different approach to actually be involved in the business of publishing and keeping things more professional.


What’s your favorite part in either book?

From, “Touch….” my favorite piece would be my signature poem/spoken word piece which is called, “Confessions of a Literary Masturbator” from, “Collage” my favorite piece is dedicated to my mother Flora Fudge and is titled, “The Times of the Jingle Jangle Colors of Mama’s Muumuu.”

Outside of writing this book, I understand you’re involved in other projects. Would you mind sharing what those are with us?

I’m also published in the anthologies, “Mighty Real: An Anthology of African American Same Gender Loving Writing”, “Tapestries of Faith: SGLBT African American Stories of Faith, Love, & Family” and upcoming, ‘Black Gay Genius: Answering Jospeh Beam’s Call” I also have articles and essays published in print publications as well as on line. You can also see me reading/performing at Spoken Word Events and local Open Mics.


Do you plan on attending any events soon? If so, please tell us where you will be?

I definitely plan to attend and hopefully plan events. It’s something I’ve done to promote not only myself but other writers and performers. Currently there is nothing scheduled since I am working on getting my second book published. Honestly I had to take a break to get writing and publishing done but I’m ready to get involved again.

How can the readers contact you if they would like to receive a personal copy? Do you have a website?

Books can be purchased through on line booksellers. For contact info you can reach me by email theliterarymasturbator@gmail.com, connect on social networks Facebook: facebook.com/jair.trice, Google +: plus.google.com/+JairTheLiteraryMasturbator, Twitter: @litmasturbator

What advice do you have for someone just starting out as an author?

Believe in yourself. We face so much self-doubt and no matter what your personal goals are believe that you have a voice, something to say, and there is an audience to hear it.

Is there anything else you would like to say in closing?

Thanks for this opportunity!!!

touchFrontCover2-17-11f

About Chatmon's Books

Chatmon's Books is your online bookstore for the best in emerging authors, writers' workshop CD's and DVD's, bookmarks, poetry postcards and more. #LiteratureUnlimited

Posted on November 18, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Correction: it’s ‘Jair, The Literary Masturbator’ instead of what we posted earlier. Our apologies. – The ANF Staff

Leave a Reply

