Gregory Marshall: A Real G-Man

Red Greg

From Natchez, Mississippi by way of Inglewood, California, Gregory Marshall is a relatively new author just signed by Brown Girls Publishing which is founded by bestselling authors Victoria Christopher Murray and ReShonda Tate Billingsley. So we at ANF Extra know he’s in good hands. Let’s find out more about this talented writer and his published work, “G-Man: The Education of a Criminal.”

How long have you been writing?

I started writing my memoir in April of 2007.

What was the inspiration behind your book?

The name of my book is entitled “G-Man: The Education of a Criminal”. I was inspired to write my book because I wanted to make a difference. I spent most of my young adult life and my adult life incarcerated. I experienced firsthand the pain of incarceration, isolation and the absence of a father in my life. During those years I saw so many young African American males that were going through the same thing I was experiencing.

What steps did you take to publish “G-Man: The Education of a Criminal”?

I made the decision to self-publish my first book. That decision was based on the fact that the economy had taken a fall and I realized that waiting on a publishing deal was going to be very hard to obtain. I just relied on the fact that if my book was good enough someone would eventually recognize that also. I found a literary agent just as I was finishing my book. That literary agent connected me to an editor. That same editor eventually became my next literary agent and she recently landed me a publishing deal with Brown Girls Publishing in January of 2014.

What’s your favorite part of G-Man?

My favorite part is the description of my actual spiritual transition. I think that part needs to be the focus. It’s what the book is really all about!

Outside of writing this book, I understand you’re involved in other projects. Would you mind sharing what those are with us?

I’m currently involved in community outreach programs as a mentor and motivational speaker for at risk youths.

Do you plan on attending any events soon? If so, please tell us where you will be?

I don’t have any scheduled events at the present. I’m currently writing my second novel entitled City Within a City “My life behind the walls”.

How can the readers contact you if they would like to receive a personal copy? Do you have a website?

I can reached by email at gman.book@yahoo.com my website address is gman-book.com (My website is currently down due to redesigning)

What advice do you have for someone just starting out as an author?

My advice to any author is never give up. Always believe that you can and will make it. You just have to believe in yourself and let the content of your work speak for itself. Eventually someone will notice you.

Is there anything else you would like to add in closing?

In closing I just want to say that becoming a published author is a dream come true for me. Being a writer allows me to voice my opinion and let the reader learn from my mistakes. I’m honored to have the opportunity to share my living testimony with the world. I hope to make a difference, one person at a time!

gman final book cover copy small 2

About Chatmon's Books

Chatmon's Books is your online bookstore for the best in emerging authors, writers' workshop CD's and DVD's, bookmarks, poetry postcards and more. #LiteratureUnlimited

Posted on February 20, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

