The Lisa D. DeNeal Interview: Dead Lies

Lisa D. DeNeal

Besides being one of the biggest fans of Scandal and other favorite television shows, Lisa D.De Neal is an outstanding journalist and new author. She’s here to share her latest work, Dead Lies with us.

Let’s know more about Lisa D. DeNeal Please tell us more about yourself.

My name is Lisa D. DeNeal and I am a freelance journalist and published author from Gary, IN.

How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing for more than 20 years.

What inspired you to write your book Dead Lies?

“Dead Lies” was inspired by my work as a freelance writer for a daily newspaper called the Post-Tribune. I decided to create an alter ego in the lead character, Adam L. Davenport and create a story line blurring with what I’ve dealt with over the years. Adam loves what he does, but has to deal with a percentage of citizens in his hometown where he is reporting stories. Many don’t like him because they don’t like the newspaper. He catches a lot of hell from critics.

What steps did you take to publish your book?

I started the manuscript about five years ago and set it aside until last year. I finished the manuscript, edited the work and my sister told me about Createspace. After doing the research, I decided to self-publish through Createspace. I chose to do all of the editing and layout myself and chose the cover and not have to pay for it.

What’s your favorite part of Dead Lies?

I love the flashback sequence between Adam and his ex-wife, Eva, who is a staff photographer for The Daily Perspective which is a rival newspaper. I had fun putting that together.

What’s the one thing you want the readers to learn from your book?

With “Dead Lies,” I want readers to see that lies don’t ever die. The truth is going to come out one way or another.

What makes your book stand out from the rest?

While there have been published novels about journalists, but I decided to focus on what a freelance journalist goes through personally and professionally.

Outside of writing this book, I understand you’re involved in other projects. Would you mind sharing them with us?

I am taking notes on another novel involving a debt collector and how his personal actions may result in a debt that he can or cannot pay. I also freelance for a couple of magazines.

Do you plan on attending any events soon? If so, please tell us where you will be?

I don’t have anything on the horizon yet.

How can the readers contact you if they would like to receive a personal copy? Do you have a website?

You can email me at miss_lisa_67@hotmail.com. “Dead Lies” is available on amazon.com and createspace.com.

What advice do you have for someone just starting out as an author?

Write. Whenever you come up with a story idea, write it down. Don’t give up. Keep writing until the end.

Where do you see yourself five years from now if you continue writing books?

I would love to write and produce the film adaptation of “Dead Lies” and a couple other films.

Is there anything else you would like to say in closing?

Thanks for the opportunity to promote “Dead Lies” and I hope readers support it.

Here’s hoping we’ll flood our Twitter accounts advertising the Dead Lies movie coming out one day! Thanks to Ms. DeNeal for the interview!

Dead_Lies_Cover_for_Kindle

About Chatmon's Books

Chatmon's Books is your online bookstore for the best in emerging authors, writers' workshop CD's and DVD's, bookmarks, poetry postcards and more. #LiteratureUnlimited

Posted on May 12, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

