Hold On To Your Rough Drafts! (For Writers)

A list of resources for new and aspiring authors

When I look back on my life, obviously there were opportunities to be had which I failed to take advantage of. What I don’t regret is the fact I kept on writing, keeping most of my rough drafts in a safe place. In writers workshops, I tell budding authors how important it is to keep your rough drafts of your written work for the fact you may want to go back to that poem or prose manuscript you’ve spent time on, or use a few plot elements for an upcoming story or poem that hasn’t entered your mind yet. Whether its paper or old files in your hard drive, it’s best to save every idea, every thought you’ve ever written or typed out. I still lament the fact of old plays, short stories that I wrote by hand or typed on my electric typewriter that I’ve thrown in the trash or ripped up with my bare hands. We say our mind is like a computer and reader, you may take the approach I once had, “Well I’ll just rewrite the whole thing again.” I can do that, but my misplaced arrogance will help me understand that perhaps what I wrote was ‘perfect’ the first time. Maybe I should have kept the written work so I wouldn’t have to strain myself years later on rewriting a piece that I miss.

It’s important to keep your rough drafts because as I might have mentioned it before, it could be the one idea that will help launch your writing career or get you ‘over the top’ as an author. Either way, your ideas belong to you. Before you do throw your draft away, think on these questions:

Is this a project I may come back to?
Am I having fun working on this non-fiction or fiction written project?
What am I getting out of it besides a waste of time?

These are the questions you as a writer have to ask before jettisoning a rough draft you feel you may or may not feel invested in. Look, there are tons of articles and blog posts that will show you the benefits of keeping a first draft but if I have to leave you with any advice (such as it is), remember this: hold on to all of your written and typed works and save them in a ‘cool’ place like a folder on your hard drive or actual folder at home. No matter where you keep them, I believe when you’re looking for another project to work on, it’s best to rethink and restart a piece of work you didn’t finish or didn’t believe fit comfortable the first time.

Just stay focused and continue to write. It will all come together for you in the end!

Charles L. Chatmon
Authors N Focus

About Chatmon's Books

Chatmon's Books is your online bookstore for the best in emerging authors, writers' workshop CD's and DVD's, bookmarks, poetry postcards and more. #LiteratureUnlimited

Posted on February 26, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

